This is the "Home" page of the "American Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Music  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/ammusic Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article, click on the Check for Full Text buttons from within any database, or visit Trexler Library website and search in Encompass on the journal title to determine if it is available full text through our library.

        

      How do I find scholarly books on my subject?

      Here are some books that contain relevant material:

      Allentown 1762-1987 (level C, call #974.827 A433se)
      19th, 20th centuries.

      Allentown: A Pictorial History (level C, call #974.827 B655a)
      19th, 20th centuries.

      Proceedings of the Lehigh County Historical Society (level C, call #974.827 L522p)
      20th century. See especially index in 2004 issue, but also general index.

      Pennsylvania Dutch, by Klees (level C, call #974.81 K63p)
      18th century.

      Pennsylvania Dutch, by Parsons (level C, call #974.81 P272p)
      18th century.

      Lehigh Valley: An Illustrated History (level C, call #974.82 H177l)
      20th century.

      A History of Bethlehem Pennsylvania (level C, call #974.822 L661h)
      18th, 19th centuries.

      Arts of the Pennsylvania Germans (level C, call #974.81 P4161 v. 17)
      18th, 19th centuries.

      Bethlehem of Pennsylvania (level C, call #974.822 B5621)
      18th, 19th centuries.

      Bethlehem of Pennsylvania: The Golden Years (level C, call #974.822 B5622)
      19th, 20th centuries.

      America's Musical Life: A History (level B, call #780.973 C899a)
      18th, 19th centuries.

      Historical Notes on Music in Bethlehem, PA. (level B, call #780.9748 G847h)
      18th, 19th centuries.

      Music and Musicians of Pennsylvania (level B, call #780.9748 R739m)
      18th, 19th centuries.

      Musical Life in the Pennsylvania Settlements of the Unitas Fratrum (level B, call #780.9748 D249m)
      18th, 19th centuries.

      The Bethlehem Bach Choir (level B, call #780.9 W235b)
      19th, 20th centuries.

      Church Music and Musical Life in Pennsylvania in the XVIII Century (level B, call #783 N277c)
      18th century.

      Northampton Heritage (level C, call #974.822 A361n)
      18th, 19th centuries.

          

        How do I find newspaper articles about music in the Lehigh Valley?

        • Lehigh University Brown & White
          Full text of the Lehigh University newspaper from 1890s to 2000.
        • Morning Call
          ***RECOMMENDED***
          Includes full text of all articles published 1982 to present. Especially strong in 20th century, but also includes articles on early Lehigh history.

        How do I locate peer-reviewed journal articles?

        Can I search all the library databases and catalog together, in one search?

        Most of the databases and the library catalog can be searched together in a new library search engine called Search Central found on the Trexler Library website. Most useful when working with narrow topics where you need everything that's available.  Several search features are missing from the original databases, like relevance, and language and peer review limiters.

            

          How do I cite sources in a bibliography?

          For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

          For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

              

            Articles via interlibrary loan

            Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

                
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip