Finding News Articles
For national news...
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including media and communication. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.
For local news...
Mondo Times, Worldwide News Media Guide: Pennsylvania
Links to local media in the United States and worldwide, including newspaper, TV stations, news radio stations, and online news sources.
A database of articles from the Allentown-based Morning Call newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to 1 day ago. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Finding Company / Organization Information
Offers basic directory information plus financial statements, mission and programs, goals and results, and leaders. Password access only; consult your instructor.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
"National repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States."
Business Source Complete
A database with lots of journal and trade magazine articles. Also provides company information. Use the Company Profiles link in the blue navigation bar at the top of the screen.
A database of lots of popular newspaper and magazine articles. Also provides company information. Use the Get Company Info box on the homepage search screen.
Finding Local Community Information
- American Factfinder
A database from the U.S. Census Bureau with population, housing, and business statistics at the country, state, county, city, and zip code levels.
- Lehigh Valley Research Consortium
Collects quantitative and qualitative data on the Lehigh Valley on: demographics, public opinion , economic indicators, non-profit sector, governmental sector, and more.
- Pennsylvania Department of Education
"Information about schools, student progress, graduation rates, school districts," and more.
- Pennsylvania State Data Center
Official source of demographic and economic data for Pennsylvania.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
"Principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics." Find statistics and data on inflation, spending, employment, wages, productivity, and more.
Citing Your Sources
- For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.
- For information on APA, Chicago, and MLA Styles, see:
Need Help with Your Research?
Social Sciences Reference Librarian