Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
When searching for articles, you may find the full-text of an article linked in the database. If not:
- Most databases have a Check for Full Text buttons. Click the link to check our holdings.
- If there is not a Check for Full Text buttons, search Encompass to see if we have access to the full text in print or through another database.
If we do not have access to the article you need, request the article via Interlibrary Loan:
- Many databases have a Request on Interlibrary Loan or Request Item link or button. Click here to fill out a request form.
- If the database does not have an ILL link embedded, go to the Library Homepage -- Services -- Interlibrary Loan. Fill out the form. NOTE: Interlibrary Loan can take anywhere from a few day to a few weeks. Plan accordingly.
TREXLER LIBRARY and LIBRARIES WORLDWIDE
Search Encompass to find out what books, government publications, journals, videos, etc. you can access through Trexler Library, as well as to see items that other libraries own that may be accessible to you through Interlibrary Loan.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to 325 reference works, including general and subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from over 60 respected publishers across 17 major subject areas--all online, all searchable from one search box.
- Encyclopedia of life sciences
(1999- ). Basingstoke, Hampshire, England: Nature Pub. Group: Macmillan; New York, NY: Grove's Dictionaries, Inc.
- Levin, S.A. (Ed.). (2001). Encyclopedia of biodiversity. San Diego, CA: Academic Press.
Reference 333.9503 E56o v.1-5
- National Geographic
available through the publisher, full text from publisher, 2005 - present, or 1995 - 3 months ago through Academic Search Complete
available through Academic Search Complete, 1997-1 year ago, or in paper on level C
- Natural History
available through Academic Search Complete, 1990 - present, or on level C in paper
available in paper on level C of the library, 1966-present, citations are available through Academic Search Complete
- Scientific American
Available from Academic Search Complete, 1995-present
- Academic Search Complete
Large and diverse database that covers most academic disciplines. Contains both scholarly and non-academic resources. Includes many articles in full text.
Searchable collections of full-text journals across many disciplines. Contains full-text of many biology, botany, ecology journal titles. (Note: To restrict results to particular journals/disciplines, from Advanced Search screen, choose discipline category/ies.)
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to news articles, business legal information, medical and reference research. The News includes national, regional, and international newspapers and magazines.
Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content--indexing, abstracts, and full-text--from six of Wilson's full-text databases.
Reading Primary Literature in Biology (Kenyon College)
Article Databases and Indexes
A bibliographic database of citations to agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library. It contains separate databases for books and journals which combined account for millions of records from 1970 to present.
- Google Scholar
An open-access search engine that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly" on the free web. Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Be sure to check library catalog to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
Provides online indexing to professional and scholarly publications. Researchers are able to search and access a broad range of academic materials relevant to biology, life sciences, as well as many other subject areas. No full text.
- ScienceDirect College Edition Health and Life Sciences
This database includes 1000+ full-text Elsevier journals in the areas of health and life sciences. Coverage spans 1995 to the present.
Most any item not immediately available in our library or in the research databases can be requested on interlibrary loan by filling out the appropriate form for articles or books.