Subject Guides: Animal Behavior : Home

Selected Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Encyclopedia of life sciences
(1999- ). Basingstoke, Hampshire, England: Nature Pub. Group: Macmillan; New York, NY: Grove's Dictionaries, Inc.
Levin, S.A. (Ed.). (2001). Encyclopedia of biodiversity. San Diego, CA: Academic Press.
Reference 333.9503 E56o v.1-5

Specific sources

National Geographic
available through the publisher, full text from publisher, 2005 - present, or 1995 - 3 months ago through Academic Search Complete
Nature
Natural History
available through Academic Search Complete, 1990 - present, or on level C in paper
Science
Available 1880-present.
Scientific American
Available from Academic Search Complete, 1995-present

Databases - Getting Started

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large and diverse database that covers most academic disciplines. Contains both scholarly and non-academic resources. Includes many articles in full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable collections of full-text journals across many disciplines. Contains full-text of many biology, botany, ecology journal titles. (Note: To restrict results to particular journals/disciplines, from Advanced Search screen, choose discipline category/ies.)

Finding Primary Literature

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
A database of citations to scientific literature primarily focusing on agriculture (including books, articles, and online resources) created by the National Agriculture Library.
AGRICOLA records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

Both data sets are updated daily with newly cataloged and indexed materials. Each may be searched separately, or the two may be searched together.

Reading Primary Literature in Biology (Kenyon College)
http://biology.kenyon.edu/Bio_InfoLit/index.html

Article Databases and Indexes

Google Scholar
An open-access search engine that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly" on the free web. Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Be sure to check library catalog to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
Ingenta
Provides online indexing to professional and scholarly publications. Researchers are able to search and access a broad range of academic materials relevant to biology, life sciences, as well as many other subject areas. No full text.

ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,000+ full-text journals published by Elsevier 1995 to the present in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.

Citing Sources

For information on citation styles, consult the following resources.

Writer's Handbook (University of Wisconsin--Madison)
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/Documentation.html

Trexler Library handouts on citation styles:
http://trexler.muhlenberg.edu/research/citation-guides.html

Interlibrary Loan

Most any item not immediately available in our library or in the research databases can be requested on interlibrary loan by filling out the appropriate form for articles or books.

Animal Behavior

Need help with your research?

Getting the Full Text!

Finding Books