Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017
- Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
- Europa World Year Book
Brief statistics by country on a variety of topics, including: area and population, health and welfare, agriculture, industry, trade, transport, education, and more.
- Political Handbook of the World
Information by country on a variety of topics, including: government and politics, constitution, foreign affairs, political and opposition parties, and more.
- CIA World Factbook
Free resource. Gives basic demographics of a country, plus overview of political system. Most recent year only.
- Europa World Yearbook
Demographics including health, welfare, and education.
- Human Development Report
The 2015 Human Development Report is the latest in the series of global Human Development Reports published by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) since 1990 as independent, analytically and empirically grounded discussions of major development issues, trends and policies.
- International Monetary Fund
Free resource. Respected.
- Little Green Data Book
The Little Green Data Book provides about 50 indicators for more than 200 countries. Several of these indicators have the potential to measure progress on the SDGs. These indicators measure the use of resources and the way human activities affect both the natural and the built environment. They include measures of natural resources (forest, water, and cultivable land) as well as degradation (pollution, deforestation, loss of habitat, and loss of biodiversity).
- National Statistical Offices
A directory of statistical offices of countries around the globe.
- World Bank
Free resource. Good for media and communication, internet use, science and technology, etc.
- World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators is the World Bank's premier publication of date on development, country by country.
- World Development Indicator Tables
- Academic Search Complete
Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
- Business Source Complete
Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals. May include reports about consumers, target markets, etc.
Index to scholarly publications in economics. Links out to other library databases, and to interlibrary loan.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Many authors have placed their works in Google Books as a way to increase exposure and hopefully sell more copies of their works. Any full text that appears may not be easy to extract or manipulate, and often only snippets are available for viewing online. Use the "Find in a Library" option to "request item" on interlibrary loan (you need to be "connected to the Muhlenberg Col Libr network" to do so).
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
- Advanced Google
Allows limit by domain, such as .edu.
Authoritativeness will vary. Assess author and institutional affiliation.
- Google News
Comprehensive up-to-date coverage from newspapers around the world.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more, with coverage in the main from 1980 to present.
- Wall Street Journal via Proquest 1984 to present
Available by library subscription. The "paper of record" of the business world. Proquest version contains full text archive 1923-today. No charts or graphs
- Trexler Library Citation Guides
Brief, easy-to-use guides to the 3 most used citation styles: APA, Chicago (Turabian), MLA.
Free citation tool. Does the citing for you! Loved by librarians, professors, and students alike.