This is the "Home" page of the "Financial Analysis and Risk Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Financial Analysis and Risk Management  

Last Updated: Apr 25, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/financialrisk Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Outreach and Scholarly
Communication Librarian,
Humanities & Business
Subject Specialist

phone: 484-664-3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

A.T.

Topic Narrowing for Short Papers

  • Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
    A 2-vol. complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs. sample

Authoritative Resources for the Short Papers

  • Academic Search Complete
    Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
  • Business Source Complete
    Available through library subscription. An "aggregator database" containing the full text of trade journals and other business periodicals. Known for its subject indexing. Strong on information about both industries and companies.
  • Encompass Search
    Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
  • Wall Street Journal via Proquest 1984 to present
    Available by library subscription. The "paper of record" of the business world. Proquest version contains full text archive 1923-today. No charts or graphs

Choosing a company

Company Financial Data

  • EDGAR Company Filings
    Open access. Since 1934, the SEC has required disclosure in forms and documents. In 1984, EDGAR began collecting electronic documents to help investors get information. The SEC's new system requires data disclosure — the next step to improve how investors find and use information. Here is a guide for importing data from EDGAR into Excel.
  • Google: Company websites
    Explore individual company websites. Look for sections targeting shareholders or investors.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Company financial information. Also includes LEXISNEXIS CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS: choose Search by Subject > Company Profiles > Advanced: LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations.

Corporate Mission/Strategies/History/Geography

  • Business Source Complete
    Available through library subscription. An "aggregator database" containing the full text of trade journals and other business periodicals. Known for its subject indexing. Strong on information about both industries and companies.
  • Google: Company websites
    Explore individual company websites. Look for sections targeting shareholders or investors.
  • Hoover's Company Records
    Available via library subscription to LexisNexis Academic
  • International Directory of Company Histories
    A reliable source of historical information for many companies: American and foreign, private and public, past and present-day.
  • LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
    Gives the corporate hierarchy from parents through subsidiaries. A good way to get geographical distribution as well.

Country Commercial/Cultural Background

  • CIA World Factbook
    Free resource. Gives basic demographics of a country, plus overview of political system. Most recent year only.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Central & South America
    Each 20-page country profile includes colorful maps—one highlighting world location and one with major cities and natural landmarks—and country flag, and 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Central, South, & Southeast Asia
    Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of all 24 countries that make up the vast region that is Central, South and Southeast Asia. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: East Asia and the Pacific
    Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of the 20 countries that make up East Asia and the Pacific. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Eastern & Southern Africa
    The former of these two regions, the eastern part, is made up of the following countries: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, and South Sudan (all of the Horn area and inland), along with, below the Horn, Burundi, Comoros, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tanzania, and Uganda. Some models shift the southeastern nations of Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, and Seychelles to the southern region of Africa, but here we include them under Eastern Africa. In Southern Africa, therefore, we have Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. All told, 23 nations are examined in this volume.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Eastern Europe
    Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of the 25 countries that make up eastern Europe. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Middle East & North Africa
    Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of the 21countries that make up this region of the world. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: North America & the Caribbean
    Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of the 22 countries that make up North America and the Caribbean. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Western & Central Africa
    The first of these two regions, the western part, is made up of the following 16 countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo. The second region, Central Africa, consists of the following 9 countries: Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé & Príncipe. All told, then, 25 nations are examined in this volume.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Western Europe
    Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of the 27 countries that make up western Europe. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.
  • Country Commercial Guides
    Look no further than the U.S. Commercial Service’s Country Commercial Guides, written by U.S. Embassy trade experts worldwide….. An excellent starting point for everything you need to know about exporting and doing business overseas detailing 8 important weigh stations on your export journey.
  • Passport Reference
    NOTE: Search on your country in the upper right hand corner of the screen of this database to bring up all the reports about your country. Pay particular attention to the report called "Consumer Lifestyles."

    Passport Reference, published by Euromonitor, provides comparable international business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers access to more than 1 million country, market and lifestyle statistics; 4,500 markert research reports (global reports, country reports, industry reports, company reports and lifestyle reports); 205 country profiles: company market share and brand share rankings; 35,000 business information sources.
  • World Bank
    Free resource. Good for media and communication, internet use, science and technology, etc.

Industry Data and History

  • BizMiner
    BizMiner produces the most granular industry statistical reports in the market. We offer industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Our market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Focus on sales classes of < $500m.
  • Encyclopedia of American Industries
    Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. The work consists of more than 1,000 detailed profiles of the manufacturing and service industries.
  • Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
    Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets. Consists of detailed profiles newer industries, such as biometrics, risk management services, satellites, specialty tourism, and others.
  • Encyclopedia of Global Industries
    Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries. Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; its organization and structure; its history and development; major countries and companies involved (including rankings); size and nature of the work force; and research.
  • RMA Annual Statement Studies
    Trexler Library B level, call # 657.3 R627a. Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Arranged by SIC code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.

Citing Sources

  • Trexler Library Citation Guides
    Brief, easy-to-use guides to the 3 most used citation styles: APA, Chicago (Turabian), MLA.
  • Zotero
    Free citation tool. Does the citing for you! Loved by librarians, professors, and students alike.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip