Subject Guides: Italian Renaissance: Home

Reference Works

The Book of Symbols
call # 302.2223 B724o
Brill's New Pauly Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
call # 913.38 B857n
Butler's Lives of the Saints
call # 282.0922 B985b
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Symbols
call # 302.222 B396c
Dictionary of classical mythology : symbols, attributes & associations
call # 292.03 B435d
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
call # 704.94 H177d
The Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
call # 704.903 R644e

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by over 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.

Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
On order.
Hall's History of Ideas and Images in Italian Art
On order.
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art
call # 704.94603 H177i
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Mythology (by Edith Hamilton)
call # 291.13 H217m
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
call # 913.38 O98, 1970
Signs and Symbols in Christian Art
call # 704.948 F352s

Secondary Scholarly Sources (Books)

Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.

Library of Congress Subject Headings (and selected titles) that may prove useful:

Mary, Blessed Virgin, Saint Art.
Title: Blessed and beautiful : picturing the saints
Christian saints in art.
Christian art and symbolism
Masculinity Italy History.
Portraits Renaissance Italy
Title: The Renaissance portrait : from Donatello to Bellini ON RESERVE ARH 102
Title: Women in Italian Renaissance art : gender, representation, and identity
Mythology, Classical, in art.
Title: Classical Myths in Italian Renaissance Painting
Jesus Christ Art
Bible. Old Testament Illustrations
Jesus Christ Nativity Art.
Bible. New Testament Illustrations.
Title: Gospel Figures in Art
Title: Painting in late medieval and renaissance Siena (1260-1555)
Title: The Perfect Genre: Drama and Painting in Renaissance Italy
Title: The Imaginary Everyday: Genre Painting in Italy and France, 1580-1670

Google Books
Previews of content. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan.

Secondary Scholarly Sources (Periodicals)

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.

Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

Italian Renaissance

Need help with your research?

Getting to the full text

Reference Works

Secondary Scholarly Sources (Books)

Secondary Scholarly Sources (Periodicals)

Citing sources

Articles and books via interlibrary loan