This is the "Home" page of the "Media & Social Movements" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Media & Social Movements  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/mediaandsocialmovements Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Primary Mainstream Media Sources: Newspapers, Magazines, and More

DATABASES

Academic Search Complete (Mostly national primary sources)
A database of scholarly, popular, and trade publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Use the limits on the left sidebar of a search results page to narrow results to just magazines and/or newspapers. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

LexisNexis Academic (Both national and local primary sources)
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

Omnifile (Mostly national primary sources)
A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Use the limits on the left sidebar of a search results page to narrow results to just magazines and/or newspapers. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

SINGLE TITLES

MondoTimes -- The Worldwide News Media Guide (Mostly local primary sources)
Links to websites for local media in the United States and worldwide, including newspaper, TV stations, news radio stations, and online news sources.

Morning Call
A database of articles from the Allentown-based Morning Call newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to 1 day ago. Full text is linked directly in the database.

Wall Street Journal
A database of articles from the Wall Street Journal newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to present. Full text is linked directly in the database.

      

    Citing Your Sources

    • For information on APA Style, see:
      • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
        Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
      • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
        General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
      • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
        General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
    • Zotero
      "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
        

      Need Help with Your Research?

      Contact:

      Jen Jarson
      Social Sciences Reference Librarian
      phone: 484-664-3552
      email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip