Subject Guides: Psychology of Women: Home

Selected Reference Materials

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Handbook of Women's Sexual and Reproductive Health by Gina M. Wingood (Editor); Ralph J. DiClemente (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461506898
Publication Date: 2013-11-11
Oxford American Handbook of Reproductive Medicine by Hugh S. Taylor; Tamir S. Aldad; Enda McVeigh; Roy Homburg; John Guillebaud
ISBN: 9780199735761
Publication Date: 2012-04-09
Oxford Handbook of Reproductive Medicine and Family Planning by Enda McVeigh; Roy Homburg; John Guillebaud
ISBN: 9780199203802
Publication Date: 2008-06-02
Adolescent Sexuality by Carolyn Cocca (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 306.70835 A239s
ISBN: 0313333998
Publication Date: 2006-09-30
Men's Health and Illness by Donald J. Sabo (Editor); David Frederick Gordon (Editor); Michael S. Kimmel (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780803952751
Publication Date: 1995-08-30
Routledge handbook of sexuality, gender, health and rights by Peter Aggleton(Editor)Rob Cover(Editor)Carmen H Logie(Editor)Christy E Newman(Editor)Richard Parker(Editor)
ISBN: 9781003278405
Publication Date: 2024
Our Bodies, Ourselves by Boston Women's Health Book Collective Staff; Judy Norsigian
Call Number: 613.04244 B747o 2011
ISBN: 9781439190661
Publication Date: 2011-10-04

Websites of Interest

Advocates for Youth
"Advocates for Youth partners with youth leaders, adult allies, and youth-serving organizations to advocate for policies and champion programs that recognize young people’s rights to honest sexual health information; accessible, confidential, and affordable sexual health services; and the resources and opportunities necessary to create sexual health equity for all youth."
CDC - Sexual Health
"The World Health Organization defines sexual health as a state of physical, emotional, mental and social well-being in relation to sexuality; it is not merely the absence of disease, dysfunction or infirmity. Sexual health requires a positive and respectful approach to sexuality and sexual relationships, as well as the possibility of having pleasurable and safe sexual experiences, free of coercion, discrimination and violence.[1]"
MedLine Plus - Health Topics
"Read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 1000 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily."
Kinsey Institute - Sexual Health Resources
"These pages provide basic information about topics in sexuality and sexual health and include answers to some of our most common questions from readers. "
Kinsey Institute - Research
"Today, just as in 1947, research at the Kinsey Institute seeks to illuminate the most intimate and formative aspects of our lives. Developments in fields ranging from neuroscience and psychology to biology and gender studies inform questions asked by our scientists."
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - Office of Women's Services
"The Office on Women's Health (OWH) was established in 1991 within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). OWH coordinates women's health efforts across HHS and addresses critical women's health issues by informing and advancing policies, educating health care professionals and consumers, and supporting innovative programs. Learn more about who we are."

Finding Articles

Check the Psychology Subject Guide or other Subject Guides for other recommended databases and resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality and Gender features a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Trexler Library has access to three parts of the archives; LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Parts 1 and 2 plus Sex and Sexuality, 16th to 20th Century.
"LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part I" brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.
"Part II" adds oral history transcripts, diaries, and letters that provide a deeply personal and human interpretation of the LGBTQ experience and less mainstream LGBTQ groups such as student groups, Two-Spirit people, the Jewish LGBTQ community, LG Christian groups, and bisexual, transvestite, and transgender communities.
"Sex and Sexuality" is a collection of books in the natural and social sciences as well as literary works and humanities. Books examine topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology.
Gender: Identity and Social Change (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
"Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics."
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948 and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,000+ full-text journals published by Elsevier 1995 to the present in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
Springerlink This link opens in a new window
Over 1,700 journals from Springer-Verlag with coverage from 1997 to present. Subjects covered focus on the natural sciences, but also include significant titles in behavioral sciences, humanities, social sciences and law.

Psychology of Women

Get Help

Selected Reference Materials

Websites of Interest

Finding Articles

Books

Policing the Womb

Older Women Who Work

It's So Amazing!

Sex and Relationships Education

It's Perfectly Normal

Sexuality, Sexual Health and Ageing

Sexuality and Relationship Education for Children and Adolescents with Autism Spectrum Disorders

Not Just a Pretty Face