Last Updated: Nov 28, 2016
Find specific recommendations by course:
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
- ScienceDirect College Edition Health and Life Sciences, Physical Sciences
A database of scholarly journals published by Elsevier in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search Encompass Search by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books and scholarly journals, as well as newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.
These resources can help you to brainstorm topic ideas, narrow your topic to make it more manageable, or learn background information about a topic you have picked.
- Credo Reference
Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for psychology. Full text is linked directly in the database.
- Annual Review of Psychology
Literature reviews providing summary and analysis of research in the field of psychology, published annually. Good for an overview of the state of research on a given topic. Full text is available online for 1950-present.
- DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Location: Ready Reference 616.89 A512d4 2000 (Level A)
Information about and criteria for the classification of mental disorders. (Published in 2000.)
- DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Location: Ready Reference 616.89 A512d5 (Level A)
Information about and criteria for the classification of mental disorders. (Published in 2013.)
APA Style is typically preferred for psychology, but check with your professor for style requirements and recommendations to be sure.
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.)
Location: Ready Reference 808.06615 P976m 2010 (Level A)
The authoritative and complete manual for APA Style.
- Citation Guides (Muhlenberg College)
Examples of citation formatting in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.