This is the "Home" page of the "Reading the Qur'an" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reading the Qur'an  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/quran Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Encyclopedias (good for topic-generating and recommending sources)

       

      Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an
      On reserve at Trexler Library. 297.1226 C178
      Longer essays.

      Encyclopaedia of Islam
      Trexler Library Reference 297.03 E56o
      Older, but a classic.

      Encyclopedia of Religion
      The standard reference for religion studies.

      Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics
      Trexler Library Reference 203 H357e
      Pre-dates Encyclopedia of Religion.

      Encyclopaedia of the Qur'¯an
      Trexler Library Reference 297.12203 E56o
      Fully documented, scholarly.

      Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
      Trexler Library Reference 909.0976 O98e
      Scholarly introduction to the world of Islam.

      Oxford History of Islam
      On reserve at Trexler Library. 297.09 O98h
      Longer essays.

      Shorter Encyclopaedia of the Islam
      Trexler Library Reference 297.09 S559
      Much-abbreviated version of Encyclopaedia of Islam.

          

        Books

        • WorldCat
          ***RECOMMENDED***
          Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation.

        Online books

        • Google Books
          Offers previews of books, with link to interlibrary loan.

        Periodical articles

        • ATLA Religion
          ***RECOMMENDED***
          A subscription database. Standard index for religious studies. Some full text.
        • Sociological Abstracts
          A subscription database. Standard index for sociology. Some full text.

        Search engines

        • Google
          Non-selective. One of the largest web crawlers.
        • Google Scholar
          An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Check our Journal Locator (see above) to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.

        Citing sources in an bibliography

        For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

        For help in writing annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for a definition of an annotation and samples using APA and MLA styles.

        For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

            

          Articles via interlibrary loan

          Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip