This is the "Home" page of the "Comparative Slavery in the New World " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Comparative Slavery in the New World  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/slaverynewworld Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Reference works (good for generating topics and recommending sources)

      • Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery
        (Trexler Library, level B, 306.362 R696h)
        Introductions to systems of slavery around the world.
      • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
        Available by library subscription. Signed articles written by leading scholars in the field. Great for topic narrowing and for identifying the most important articles and books on a subject.

      Finding primary documents

      Primary documents (painting, photographs, letters and diaries, fan sites, blogs, youtube video, and sound recordings) can be found abundantly by using any standard web search engine like Google. However, the library catalog and WorldCat (see below) can be good sources primary documents published in book form.

      See also the footnotes of secondary sources, which often will point to primary documentation.

      One excellent website offering access to primary documentation is Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, sponsored by Emory University and others.

          

        Authoritative secondary commentary in books

            

          Authoritative secondary commentary in articles

          • America History & Life
            ***RECOMMENDED***
            Library subscription database. Standard index for peer-reviewed articles and scholarly books on U.S. and Canadian history.
          • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
            ***RECOMMENDED***
            Library subscription database. Standard index for peer-reviewed articles and scholarly books on non-U.S. history.

          Websites more likely to be scholarly

          • Google Scholar
            May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.

          Citing sources in Chicago style (foot/endnotes and bibliography format)

          For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

          Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

          For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Here is a user guide to Zotero.

          Help with annotated bibliographies

          Visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for a definition of an annotation (summary) and proper format.

              

            Articles via interlibrary loan

            Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

                
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip