Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Where can I go to brainstorm on and narrow a topic, or find a list of recommended sources?
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Newly revised and online, well-respected resource complete with recommended readings for further study.
Encyclopedia of Mexico
Available by library subscription. Signed articles written by leading scholars in the field. Great for topic narrowing and for identifying the most important articles and books on a subject.
Where can I find literary biographical sketches?
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete
The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Complete Online includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
How do I locate scholarly books (in Spanish and English), including full-length biographies and primary documents?
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
To peak inside books before requesting on interlibrary loan.
How do I locate peer-reviewed (scholarly) journal articles (in Spanish and English)?
Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly. English only.
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to historical research about Latin America and Spain. English and Spanish.
Literature Criticism Online
Reprints of book chapters and journal articles, all full text. A bit clunky to search. Available by library purchase.
MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan