Subject Guides: American Ethnic Diversity: Home

Resources for Facilitating Your Experience

GENERATING TEACHING METHODS IDEAS

Websites:

American Sociological Association: Instructor's Manual for Unit VI, Social Inequalities
See Resources for Students and Resources for Teachers links at the top.

What's Race

Library Databases:

ERIC
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals, books, documents, and more in education and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Sample Articles / Bibliographies:

Coghlan, C. L., & Huggins, D. W. (2004). “That’s Not Fair!”: A Simulation Exercise in Social Stratification and Structural Inequality. Teaching Sociology, 32(2), 177–187. doi:10.1177/0092055X0403200203

Harlow, R. (2009). Innovations in Teaching Race and Class Inequality Bittersweet Candy and the Vanishing Dollar. Teaching Sociology, 37(2), 194–204. doi:10.1177/0092055X0903700207

Resources for Sociological Scholarly Research

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Resources to use in Facilitation

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Encompass Search
Books, DVDs/VHS, CDs, and more.

Citing Your Sources

For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

For help using American Sociological Association Style, consult the following resources:

ASA Style Guide (4th ed., 2010)
Location: Ready Reference 808.0663 A512a 2010

Muhlenberg College Trexler Library ASA Guide

Quick Style Guide (American Sociological Association)

Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.

Getting Full Text Articles

GETTING THE ARTICLES IN LIBRARY DATABASES

If you are in a library database with Check for Full Text buttons, click on "Check for Full Text." This button will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, request it via interlibrary loan.

If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in the article finder on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. Look to the far right of the article's title to see if there is a link to a freely available copy.