Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation.
The Book of Symbols
call # 302.2223 B724o
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Symbols
ON RESERVE call # 302.222 B396c
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
ON RESERVE call # 704.94 H177d
Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art
ON RESERVE ARH 102 call # 709.94603 C512d
The Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
ON RESERVE call # 704.903 R644e
Grove Art Online
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by over 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.
Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
ON RESERVE ARH 102
Hall's History of Ideas and Images in Italian Art
ON RESERVE ARH 102
The Illustrated Book of Signs and Symbols
ON RESERVE call # 302.222 B887i
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art
ON RESERVE ARH 102 call # 704.94603 H177i
Signs and Symbols in Christian Art
ON RESERVE call # 704.948 F352s
Secondary Scholarly Sources (Books)
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries. Search on SU:symbolism in art.
Previews of content. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan.
Secondary Scholarly Sources (Periodicals)
Art Full Text
Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan