Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
How can I search across all databases for a specific title, whether book or journal?
Scholarly books and book chapters
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
Scholarly journal articles
America: History & Life with Full Text
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
A subscription database. Archive of scholarly journals. All disciplines are represented.
MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
A subscription database. Selection of scholarly journals from across the disciplines.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan