Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
Trexler Library 306.09403 E56o
Signed articles. Invited authors.
Oxford History of England
Trexler Library 942 o98
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
Online library catalog of primary and secondary resources, and a selected secondary collective history
Cambridge Histories Online
A reference collection of over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Journal articles (secondary) that may also contain references to primary documents
Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
A subscription database. Includes extensive full text, scholarly.
An open-access search engine that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly" on the free web. Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Be sure to check library catalog to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
Web search engines
Authoritativeness will vary. Assess author and institutional affiliation.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan