The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
How do I obtain primary sources (news and popular perspectives of the time)?
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-present.
"...a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
"Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. "
Includes full text PDF images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857- 4 years ago). Index searches within1851 to 1993 using The New York Times Index.
Full text journals available for searching include: Harper's Magazine (1850- ), LaFollette's Magazine (1909- ), The Progressive (1909- ), Commonweal (1924- ), The New Leader (1924- ), The New Yorker (1925- ), Commentary Magazine (1945- ), Dissent (1954- ), American Spectator (1967- ), Washington Monthly (1969- ), Orion Magazine (1982- ), The Weekly Standard (1995- ), Americas Quarterly (2007- ), Washington Examiner (2013- ).
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1860 - 2001
Includes full text of the following publications:
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2019)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
The Washington Post (1877-2006)
U.S. Northeast Collection (1785-2010) (includes Morning Call and other regional papers)
"The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to present, with monthly updates for new issues."
How do I obtain primary sources (medical/scientific perspectives of the time)?
"The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1691 to 1877." Provides digital access to American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
The collections of historical periodicals provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. The 17 initial collections cover the following areas: Advertising; Agriculture; Alternative Medicine and Health; The American West; Business, Industry and Professions; Canada; Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Religions ; Current Events of the Period; Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts; Foreign Language Periodicals in America; Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societies; Military and Law Enforcement; Religious Issues Pertaining to Women, Children, and Families; Science; Slavery and Abolition; Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century.
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948 and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Access the journal Science from the years 1800-2004 online, or access 2004-present (paper copies of the journal) on level B of the library at call number 505s1.
