Subject Guides: Leadership: Home

Authoritative books and articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Available by library subscription. Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.

Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.

Some suggested topics with search strategies for locating authoritative articles

The Practice of Leadership Coaching
Business Source Complete: leadership coaching, executive coaching

Career Assets & Portfolios
Google: "career portfolio"

Facilitating Teams.
Business Source Complete: "teams in the workplace" AND "team building"

Building & Repairing Trust.
Business Source Complete: leadership AND trust

Leading with Meaning.
Business Source Complete: meaningful leadership

The Role of Values & Ethics at Work
Business Source Complete: ethics AND leadership

The Will of the Leader.
Business Source Complete: leadership AND willpower

Goal Setting & Human Behavior.
Business Source Complete: "goal setting" AND psychology

Situational Leadership.
Business Source Complete: "situational leadership"

Leading Difficult Personalities.
Business Source Complete: management AND "problem employees"

Making Tough Decisions.
Business Source Complete: leadership AND "decision making"

Focus on Women in Leadership.
Business Source Complete: "women leaders"

Leadership in Conflict
Business Source Complete: leadership and "conflict management"

Leadership Levers.
Google: "leadership levers"

The Assertive Leader.
Business Source Complete: assertiveness AND leader

Transformational Change & Leader Character.
Business Source Complete: leadership AND change AND character

Tips for accessing and using e-books

Try using the same search terms above (from Business Source Complete), but this time search in Encompass Search, where the results should be largely e-books.

Guide to finding and using e-books

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.