Learning accents and dialects for acting

Introduction general principles and advice general American English compared to standard British English -- Part 1. The British Isles and Commonwealth -- Part 2. North American accents -- Part 3. Romance language accents -- Part 4. Germanic language accents -- Part 5. Slavic language accents -- Part 6. Miscellaneous european accents -- Part 7. Middle Eastern accents -- Part 8. African accents -- Part 9. Asian accents.

For use with 12 accompanying CDs, (files available online.)
Includes bibliographical references (pages 369-370).

How to use the workbook and reference materials -- Uganda (Luganda) -- Kenya (Dholuo) -- Zimbabwe (Shona) -- SA (Zulu) -- SA (Afrikaans) -- Rwanda (Kinyarwanda) -- DR Congo (Lingala) -- Senegal (Wolof) -- Nigeria (Igbo) -- Ghana (Akan: Twi & Fante) -- Liberia.

The common speech -- Then New England dialect -- The Southern Dialect -- The Louisiana-French dialect -- The Mountain dialect -- The Negro dialect -- The New York City dialect -- The Pennsylvania-Dutch dialect -- The Middle-Western dialect.

This bibliography is intended to reflect what has been achieved in this area and to serve as an indispensable research tool for further investigations. The bibliography is divided into three parts, each one is preceded by a preface which explains the procedures followed and each of the sections is followed by an index.

This bibliography is intended to provide a comprehensive overview of the relevant publications of the past few years. Like its predecessor, it will prove an indispensable reference book. The collection is in four parts, dealing respectively with general studies, Britain and Ireland, the United States and Canada, and the rest of the world. There is a joint index in which the 2800 entries are classified according to specific areas, ethnic groups, etc.

Cockney -- Hampshire -- Irish -- Liverpool -- Northern Ireland -- Scottish -- Standard British English (Received Pronunciation) -- Welsh -- Yorkshire.

A compendium of words, phrases, and local meanings has been culled from years of research, using thousands of interviews with representative American communities. Online index is at http://dare.wisc.edu/?q=node/18

Descriptive studies of Creole languages that have appeared in the last two decades show,
on the part of their authors, familiarity with the latest theories of linguistic analysis and command of the most up-to-date techniques of language description. The Dictionary of
Jamaican English (DJE) clearly ranks among the best of these studies; it has the additional merits of being the first serious dictionary of a creole language and the first to deal with a de-creolized language.

How to use the manual -- The Cockney dialect -- The British dialect -- Australian slang -- The Bermuda dialect -- The dialect of India -- The Irish dialect -- The Scottish dialect -- The German dialect -- The French dialect -- The Italian dialect -- The Spanish dialect -- The Mexican dialect -- The Filipino dialect -- The Portuguese dialect -- The Japanese dialect -- The Chinese dialect -- Pigdin English -- The Hawaiian dialect -- Beche le mar -- Australian pigdin -- The Swedish dialect -- The Norwegian dialect -- The Russian dialect -- The middle European dialects -- The Lithuanian dialect -- The Jugoslav dialect -- The Czech dialect -- The Finnish dialect -- The Hungarian dialect -- The Polish dialect -- The Greek dialect -- The Yiddish dialect.

A comprehensive examination of the exact spelling, American pronunciation, and phonetic notation of 21,000 words, scientific terms, and proper names.

Widely recognized as the most complete and rigorous text of its kind since it was first published in 1942, Speak With Distinction presents a comprehensive study of the sounds of Spoken English in their most important phonetic environments.