Learning accents and dialects for acting

This bibliography is intended to reflect what has been achieved in this area and to serve as an indispensable research tool for further investigations. The bibliography is divided into three parts, each one is preceded by a preface which explains the procedures followed and each of the sections is followed by an index.

This bibliography is intended to provide a comprehensive overview of the relevant publications of the past few years. Like its predecessor, it will prove an indispensable reference book. The collection is in four parts, dealing respectively with general studies, Britain and Ireland, the United States and Canada, and the rest of the world. There is a joint index in which the 2800 entries are classified according to specific areas, ethnic groups, etc.

A compendium of words, phrases, and local meanings has been culled from years of research, using thousands of interviews with representative American communities. Online index is at http://dare.wisc.edu/?q=node/18

Descriptive studies of Creole languages that have appeared in the last two decades show,
on the part of their authors, familiarity with the latest theories of linguistic analysis and command of the most up-to-date techniques of language description. The Dictionary of
Jamaican English (DJE) clearly ranks among the best of these studies; it has the additional merits of being the first serious dictionary of a creole language and the first to deal with a de-creolized language.

The culmination of years of research, this Dictionary features sources ranging from fanzines, through movie scripts, to classic twentieth-century literature. Containing over 60,000 entries in 2,000 pages unprecedented coverage of World English, with equal prominence given to American and British English slang, and entries included from Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India, South Africa, Ireland, and the Caribbean.

A comprehensive examination of the exact spelling, American pronunciation, and phonetic notation of 21,000 words, scientific terms, and proper names.

Widely recognized as the most complete and rigorous text of its kind since it was first published in 1942, Speak With Distinction presents a comprehensive study of the sounds of Spoken English in their most important phonetic environments.

Pronunciations for 8,000 "problem words" that are often pronounced incorrectly and indicates a preferred pronunciation.

Alphabetical listing of the 9000 most controversial words in American pronunciation.

How did Shakespeare's plays sound when they were originally performed? How can we know, and could the original pronunciation ever be recreated? For three days in June 2004 Shakespeare's Globe presented their production of Romeo and Juliet in original, Shakespearian pronunciation. In an unusual blend of autobiography, narrative, and academic content, reflecting the unique nature of the experience, this 2005 book by David Crystal recounts the first attempt in over 50 years to mount a full-length Shakespeare play in original pronunciation. Crystal begins by discussing the Globe theatre's approach to 'original practices', which has dealt with all aspects of Elizabethan stagecraft - except pronunciation. A large section is devoted to the nature of the Early Modern English sound system. There are reports of how the actors coped with the task of learning the pronunciation, how it affected their performances and how the audiences reacted.