Subject Guides: Religion & Science : Home

Encyclopedias (good for topic-generating and recommending sources)

Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Wikipedia
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.

Books

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.

Periodical articles

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Standard index for nursing, allied health and medicine. Some full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Standard index for medicine. Some full text.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,000+ full-text journals published by Elsevier 1995 to the present in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.

How to determine if a journal is peer-reviewed or not

Most research databases have ways to limit a search to peer-reviewed. In addition, an online service called UlrichsWeb can assist in determining if a journal is peer-reviewed or not.

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

Religion & Science

Need help with your research?

Getting to the full text