Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Encyclopedias (good for topic-generating and recommending sources)
Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.
A subscription database. Standard index for religion studies. Some full text.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
A subscription database. Standard index for nursing, allied health and medicine. Some full text.
A subscription database. Standard index for medicine. Some full text.
ScienceDirect Journals: Health, Life, Physical, Social, and Behavioral Sciences
A database of 2,000+ full-text Elsevier journals in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences, social, and behavioral sciences from 1995 to the present.
How to determine if a journal is peer-reviewed or not
Most research databases have ways to limit a search to peer-reviewed. In addition, an online service called UlrichsWeb can assist in determining if a journal is peer-reviewed or not.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan