Subject Guides: Microbial Chefs: Home

Reference Works Focused on Food

Cultural and food encyclopedias in/via Trexler Library

Cambridge History of World Food
Research essays on the development of cuisine globally.
Culture and Customs of Colombia
Trexler Library, level C, call # 986.1063 W726c
Culture and Customs of Peru
Trexler Library, level C, call # 985.06 F383c
Culture and Customs of the Dominican Republic
Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Google Books
Search for books indexed and scanned by the Google books project.
Latino Food Culture
1: Historical overview -- 2: Major foods and ingredients -- 3: Cooking -- 4: Meals -- 5: Eating out -- 6: Special occasions -- 7: Diet and health -- Glossary -- Resource guide -- Bibliography -- Index.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.

America History & Life
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Google Scholar
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A subscription database for non-U.S. history. Some full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.