Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Oxford English Dictionary
"The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books."
Popular sources: newspapers and magazines
Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Includes the full text of many popular magazines including Time, New Yorker, etc.
Search for books indexed and scanned by the Google books project.
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.
Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals from every discipline. Includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
Archive (five year old and prior) of scholarly journals across the discipllines. Search engine is a bit clunky.
America: History & Life with Full Text
A subscription database for U.S. history.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database for non-U.S. history.
MLA International Bibliography
A subscription database for literary criticism, film criticism, and theater criticism.
A subscription database for psychology
A subscription database. Standard index for sociology.
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan