Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subjects: American Studies
, Film Studies
, Information Science
, International Studies
, Media & Communication
, Political Economy & Public Policy
, Political Science
, Sustainability Studies
Finding Congressional Profiles
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
"Since 1859, the Biographical Directory of the United States Congress has been the primary source for biographical information on Members of the United States Congress and Continental Congresses"
Senate Oral History Project
"Since 1976 the Senate Historical Office has conducted interviews with senators and staff."
Easy to understand and comprehensive information including Congressional voting records, biographical and contact information, issue positions (including a political courage test), interest group ratings, public statements, and campaign finances.
Carl Albert Center @ the University of Oklahoma
"The collections include the papers of 61 former members of congress, along with the papers of 25 political leaders, congressional staffers, and journalists."
Finding Legislative Information
Information from the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills from 1989 on, public laws from 1988 on, committee reports from 1990 on, House and Senate documents from 1995 on, Congressional Record from 1985 on, Federal Register from 1980 on, and more government information.
Congressional Research Service Reports
"CRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. It operates solely at the behest of and under the direction of Congress. Information in a CRS Report should not be relied upon for purposes other than public understanding of information that has been provided by CRS to Members of Congress in connection with CRS’s institutional role. "
"Voteview allows users to view every congressional roll call vote in American history on a map of the United States and on a liberal-conservative ideological map including information about the ideological positions of voting Senators and Representatives."
Congressional Bills Project
"This public resource provides information about more than 400,000 bills introduced in the U.S. Congress, currently 1947-2008, along with extensive information about each bill's progress and sponsor. It is used by researchers to study legislative institutions and behavior; by policy experts to study issue attention in Congress; and even by citizens studying their family histories (the dataset provides the only digitized records of tens of thousands of private bills introduced between 1947 and 1972)."
The Deepbills Project
"The Deepbills project takes the raw XML of Congressional bills (available at FDsys and Thomas) and adds additional semantic information to them inside the text."
Finding Committee Information
Finding Procedural Information
Finding Congressional Statistics/Analysis
"GovTrack.us began in 2004 as a project to use technology to make the U.S. Congress more open and accessible. Today we’re the leading non-governmental source of legislative information and statistics." - see Report Cards on Congress under Legislators--Members of Congress.
Propublica - Represent
"See what your representatives in Congress say and do."
"Mention “LegiStorm” to a Capitol Hill staffer and their first thought probably will be “salaries.” But LegiStorm's Pro Gov subscription provides a lot more than just salary disclosures. ...Pro Gov is LegiStorm’s subscription designed for congressional and other federal government staff. Here you’ll find a suite of information services to help you with networking, salary negotiations, staff comings and goings and knowing who’s who on Capitol Hill. For less than the price of a dozen donuts we’ve put together the ultimate staffers toolbox. "
-email registration required for free, limited access
Congressional Budget Office
"Since 1975, CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process."
Center on Representative Government - Surveys on Congress
"The Center conducts annual national opinion surveys of the public’s attitudes about Congress, examining how people learn about Congress and how they evaluate its effectiveness as well as how they regard their own responsibilities as citizens. "
"The primary purpose of Thirty-Thousand.org is to conduct research on, and increase awareness of, the degradation of representative democracy in the United States resulting from Congress’ longstanding practice of limiting the number of congressional districts despite the continuing growth in the nation’s population."
Finding Census/Congressional District Information
Finding Information on Interest Groups
Finding Capitol Specific News
"As the leading provider of congressional news, legislative tracking and advocacy services, CQ Roll Call is the only media company that connects policy professionals and opinion leaders with the information and tools they need to understand and influence Congress."
"The Hill, American congressional newspaper founded in Washington, D.C., in 1994. ...The Hill is written for and about the U.S. Congress and is aimed at politicians, congressional aides, lobbyists, and others who influence national politics in Washington. Taking a nonpartisan and objective stance, The Hill reports, analyzes, and comments on the work of Congress, paying particular attention to the impact of congressional decisions on business and American society. "
"National Journal serves government affairs professionals with the intelligence and tools they need to save time, increase efficiency, and deliver success. With a focus on actionable research, insights, and custom content, National Journal keeps members informed about key movements in people, politics, and policy."
CQ Magazine (Weekly)
Publication Date: 1983-present
"CQ Magazine, formerly CQ Weekly, provides superior reporting on the world’s most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week. The CQ news team—by far the largest on Capitol Hill, with more than 100 reporters, editors, and researchers—covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else. "