Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bodies & Identities in Contemporary Cuba

Finding Background Information

Finding Primary Sources

Remember to take a look at the information resources cited in the secondary or tertiary (reference) sources that you read!  

Finding Articles

Interdisciplinary Databases

           Search scholarly literature via Google.  Some full text should be linked directly; if unsure, search Encompass by journal titles to check for full text online             or in the library.

Subject Specific Databases

Finding Books

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS WITH ENCOMPASS SEARCH

Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box. 

To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

Utilize Google Books for previews of content.  

How do I get the full text of my article?

To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

Citing Your Sources

For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide. 

American Anthropological Association Style Guide
General guidelines, as well as reference examples.  AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style. This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style.

Where no rule is present in the AAA Style Guide, follow Chicago Style.  For information on Chicago style, consult the following resources:

The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
 Ready Reference 808.027 C632m

Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)

Chicago Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)

Chicago/Turabian Documentation Style (Writing Center, University of Wisconsin--Madison)


Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.