Subject Guides: Cuisine as Culture: Home

Assessing authoritativeness

Reference works (starting places)

Cultural and food encyclopedias in/via Trexler Library

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
American Immigrant Cultures (Ref. Collection 305.800973 L657a)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (Ref. Collection 641.3003)
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Countries and Their Cultures

Authoritative books

Cambridge History of World Food
Research essays on the development of cuisine globally.
Culture and Customs of Colombia
Trexler Library, level C, call # 986.1063 W726c
Culture and Customs of Peru
Trexler Library, level C, call # 985.06 F383c
Culture and Customs of the Dominican Republic
Trexler Library call # 972.93 B878c
Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Google Books
Search for books indexed and scanned by the Google books project.
Latino Food Culture
1: Historical overview -- 2: Major foods and ingredients -- 3: Cooking -- 4: Meals -- 5: Eating out -- 6: Special occasions -- 7: Diet and health -- Glossary -- Resource guide -- Bibliography -- Index.
Migrant seasonings : food practices, cultural memory, and narratives of 'home' among Dominican communities in New York City
Peru's" Gastronomic Boom": critical perspectives on elite gastronomy and social food justice
Interlibrary loan this book. It contains chapters on Colombian and Peruvian and Costa Rican food.
Full text of a dissertation on a new culinary culture in Colombia
Interlibrary loan this book on the guinea pig in the diets of Colombians and Peruvians
Interlibrary loan this book by the Colombian Ministry of Culture, in Spanish: Gran libro de la cocina colombiana
An educated combination cookbook and food history, by region, of Colombian cuisine. Request on interlibrary loan.
Culture and customs of Guatemala
Culture and customs of El Salvador
Culture and customs of Nicaragua
Culture and customs of Costa Rica
Culture and customs of Panama
Full text of a MA thesis that includes typical foods of Guatemala
Foodways of Mesoamerica
Interlibrary loan this excellent book on food cultures of Central America
Food culture in Mexico
Interlibrary loan Food culture in the Caribbean
Interlibrary loan Food culture in South America
Interlibrary loan Food and identity in the Caribbean

Periodical articles (popular and scholarly)

Morning Call, 1984 to present This link opens in a new window
Archive from early 1980s to yesterday.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals from every discipline. Includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. history and culture journal articles.
Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.

Google Scholar
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A subscription database for non-U.S. history. Some full text.

Statistical data

American Factfinder
U.S. census data finder including information by city and zip code.
Hispanic Census Data
A database from the U.S. Census Bureau .
Pew Research Center--Hispanic Trends
The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take positions on any of the issues it covers or on policy debates.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
All manner of data on immigrants to the U.S., from the Department of Homeland Security.

Search engines

Advanced Google
Allows limit by domain, such as .edu.
Google

Local guides

Hispanic Resource in the Lehigh Valley
Resource list created by Dr. Erika Sutherland.

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.