Subject Guides: Cultural Anthropology: Home

Selected Reference Materials

Trexler Library may also have other topical reference works more closely related to your particular topic. To find them, search Encompass Search or ask for help.

21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook
Highlights the most important anthropology topics, issues, questions, and debates in the 21st century. Includes applied anthropology, archaeology and paleontology, sociocultural anthropology, evolution, linguistics, physical and biological anthropology, and primate studies. Full text online.
Countries and their Cultures
Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Over 1,000 entries that focus on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. Full text online.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
306.03 E56o
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
305.803 E56o v.1-4

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
One example of the many subject specific reference books within Credo Reference.

Oxford Bibliography of Anthropology This link opens in a new window
"Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students, scholars, and professionals.
It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen."

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly journals and books in anthropology, archaeology, and related fields. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
A database of mostly scholarly journal articles, as well as some books and non-scholarly articles published by the American Anthropological Association. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database. (Note: To restrict results to anthropology/other journals, from Advanced Search screen, choose discipline category/ies.)
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Finding Books

Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.

To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

Citing Your Sources

For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

American Anthropological Association Style Guide
General guidelines, as well as reference examples. AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style. This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style.

Where no rule is present in the AAA Style Guide, follow Chicago Style. For information on Chicago style, consult the following resources:

The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
Ready Reference 808.027 C632m

Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)

Chicago Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)

Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.

Cultural Anthropology

Get Help

How do I get the full text of my article?

Selected Reference Materials

Finding Articles

Finding Books

Citing Your Sources