Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
How can I narrow my topic and identify seminal scholarly works?
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.
Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
How do I locate scholarly books on my topic?
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
How do I locate scholarly articles (chapters or journal articles) on my topic?
Academic Search Complete
Available by library subscription. Limit to "peer reviewed" or "academic journals" to get at the scholarly journals.
Available by library subscription. Specific to religion studies. Use caution here: not all sources included here are scholarly.
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
Available by library subscription. Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
What about popular or primary sources on the web?
Articles and books via interlibrary loan