Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo, MSN): refcannon
Reference desk IM: talktotrexler
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Editions of novels online
Primary works (artifacts) as published in books and periodicals
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
When used on campus, Google Books will sync with local library holdings and interlibrary loan. From an item record, choose "Find in a Library," then "Request Item" (interlibrary loan) if the item is not available in our College library.
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.
Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.
Images (as artifacts)
Digital Media Services and Image Archive
A list of image databases and other on-line resources that members of the IFA community have found useful. This list is updated regularly, and links are checked annually. Please note that each database is different in the way its search engine works, and to what uses downloaded images may be put. Make sure you understand and adhere to applicable copyright or permission regulations as you conduct your research.
Secondary research published in journals and books (referencing primary works)
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database. Focus on European History.
A subscription database. Archive of major scholarly journals across the disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan