Subject Guides: Documentary Research (Bazaz): Home

Finding Articles

See the Subject Guides for recommendations of other databases by subject area.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
Morning Call, 1984 to present This link opens in a new window
A database of articles from the Allentown-based Morning Call newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to 1 day ago. Full text is linked directly in the database.

Researching Muhlenberg: Selected Resources

The following is a selection of resources for Muhlenberg College context and history. For additional resources or assistance, contact Susan Falciani, Special Collections and Archives Librarian: http://trexler.muhlenberg.edu/collections//special-collections/

The Ciarla: The Yearbook of Muhlenberg College
Call Number: M.C. Q M952c
A History of Muhlenberg College, 1948-1967 by Swain, James E.
Call Number: 378.748 M952hi 1965
Publication Date: 1967
An Informal History of Muhlenberg College: Alumni, Faculty and Staff Tell Their Stories, 1931-2006 by Jensen
Call Number: M.C. E J35i
Muhlenberg College Catalog
Call Number: 378.748 M952
1869-1922
Muhlenberg College sourcebook
Call Number: 378.748 M952mf
Muhlenberg Weekly (Newspaper)
Call Number: M.C. Q M952w
The Muhlenberg story: History of an American college
Call Number: M.C. E H673s 2011

Finding Statistics

Agencies Providing Federal Statistical Information (FedStats)
Links to official statistical information produced by the U.S. federal government. Browse by agency to connect to agencies' websites.
American Factfinder
A database from the U.S. Census Bureau with population, housing, and business statistics at the country, state, county, city, and zip code levels.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
"Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government."
Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistics from colonial times to modern day covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
"A federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide."
Pennsylvania State Data Center
Official source of demographic and economic data for Pennsylvania.

Finding Documentaries

Trexler Library has a selection of documentaries available. To search for them, use Encompass Search in the library homepage. Enter keywords that describe your topic area of interest. From your search results page, choose Videos under the format menu on the sidebar.

You might also find general web searching useful to locate documentaries beyond the library's collection. While we're not able to request DVDs/VHS tapes from other libraries using interlibrary loan, you might be able to find clips or even entire documentaries posted online.

Finding Images

Nonexclusively Licensed and Public Domain Images
Resource guide with tips on finding public domain and non-exclusively licensed images, in compliance with copyright restrictions.

Citing Your Sources

For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

For information on APA Style, see the APA Citation Guide
Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.