Subject Guides: Environmental Law and Sustainability: Home

Finding Legal Information

Also accessible via the Library Homepage -- Research -- Databases A to Z.

Use the US Legal section on the left sidebar.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index is an index of scholarship and research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It contains citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
PAIS Index combines two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International is the electronic version and continuation of the print publications PAIS Bulletin, PAIS Foreign Language Index, and their predecessor titles. PAIS Archive is the electronic version of the print publication PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin and its predecessor titles. By combining these two databases, PAIS Index contains all PAIS indexing from 1915 - present.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,000+ full-text journals published by Elsevier 1995 to the present in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Citing Your Sources

Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)
Find in print- Ready Reference 808.027 C632m

Up-To-Date Trexler Library Reference

Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.

How do I get the full text of my article?

To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.