Subject Guides: Fashioning Identity: Home

Reference works (good for topic-generating and recommending sources)

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Available in print copy in Trexler Library, call # 391.003 E56o, level B.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture
Available by library subscription. Lengthy entries on fashion grouped by era (1960s, etc.).
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Available by library subscription. Many entries on fashion, in the context of pop culture.

Scholarly books and primary documents

Example histories:

Survey of Historic Costume
Trexler Library call # 391.009 T699s, level B

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.

Encompass Search
To find only articles, use the Article limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Use the Peer-reviewed limit to narrow further to scholarly sources that have been peer-reviewed. Some full text is linked directly; otherwise, use the Access Online buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Primary documents

New York Times Digital Archive, 1851-4 years ago This link opens in a new window
Includes full text PDF images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857- 4 years ago). Index searches within1851 to 1993 using The New York Times Index.

Also:
Images in any fashion book or article. Images from the web. See especially the book 20th Century Fashion: 100 Years of Apparel Ads, Trexler Library level B, 659.19687 N666t

New York Times Digital Archive, 1851-4 years ago This link opens in a new window
Includes full text PDF images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857- 4 years ago). Index searches within1851 to 1993 using The New York Times Index.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Available by library subscription.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.

Online books

Google Books
An excellent source for full-text of primary documents as they appear in public domain (pre-1923) books and magazines.

Scholarly journal articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
***RECOMMENDED***
A library subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A library subscription database. Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A library subscription database. Standard index for North American history. Some full text.
Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A library subscription database. Standard index for European history. Some full text.

Search engines

Google
Google Scholar
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

Fashioning Identity

Need help with your research?

Getting to the full text