Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Out on Stage: Lesbian and Gay
Theatre in the Twentieth Century
The queerest art : essays on lesbian and gay theater
Contemporary Feminist Theatres-To Each Her
Hemispheric Institute bibliography
A bibliography of scholarship about feminist/gendered approaches to theater, with a focus on Split Britches. Request titles through interlibrary loan.
Scholarly/secondary journal articles and chapters
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
America: History & Life with Full Text
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
Definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts with many links to full text.
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
Reviews and other news and personal websites
Search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. U.S. Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan