Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or search on the article title in Encompass Search.
Reference works that recommend scholarly articles
Scholarly and doctrinal books
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Peer-reviewed journal articles
Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
A subscription database. Standard index for religious studies. Some full text.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
A free resource. Use with caution, as not all resources are in fact scholarly.
Finding out more about a journal
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
"Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more."
Articles and books via interlibrary loan