Subject Guides: Researching Graduate Schools and Finding Money to Attend: Home

How do I find schools that offer the program and degree I want?

Peterson's Graduate Schools Online
Peterson's annual guides to graduate study
Location: Trexler Library Graduate Ref Collection cal # 378.1553 P485an

How do I locate program catalogs?

Google
Google: graduate school catalog [name of school]

How do I find rankings?

College and University Rankings
A directory of various rankings online
U.S. News and World Report Best Graduate Schools
The best-known ranking.

How do I run a cost comparison?

Google
Google: graduate school tuition fees [name of school]
Chronicle of Higher Education: Tuition and Fees

How do I compare institutions for internally availably financial aid?

Peterson's annual guides to graduate study
Location: Trexler Library Graduate Ref Collection call # 378.1553 P485an
Peterson's Graduate Schools Online
Google
Google: graduate school financial aid [name of school]

How do I locate external sources of funding?

Dollars for College
Location: Trexler Library Graduate Ref Collection call # 378.3025 O52d. The Quick Guide to funding for both graduate and undergraduate study, one volume for each discipline represented.
Duke University Graduate Student Opportunities
The advanced search mode allows limit by discipline.
Financial Aid for Study and Training Abroad
Location: Trexler Library Graduate Ref Collection call # 378.35 F491s. Combined index: country and level of study.
Graduate Scholarships via Scholarships.com
Information about specific scholarships for graduate school. An extensive resource.
The Graduate Student’s Complete Scholarship Book
Location: Trexler Library Graduate Ref Collection call # 378.34 G738s. Brief but diverse entries. Most areas of study are included. Includes career/major index.
Grants for Graduate School Students
Tips for finding funding for graduate school.
The Grants Register Complete Guide to Postgraduate Funding Worldwide
Location: Trexler Library Graduate Ref Collection call # 378.34 G764r. Funding from foundations for graduate and postdoctoral study abroad.
Money for Graduate Studies in . . . [varied disciplines]
Location: Trexler Library Graduate Ref Collection call # 378.3025 M742. A separate volume each for Biological and Health Sciences, Physical and Earth Sciences, Social and Behavioral Sciences, and the Humanities.
MSU Libraries Graduate Fellowships and Loans
Links to various lists of financial aid sources, or to websites of funders themselves.
Peterson’s Grants for Graduate & Postdoctoral Study
Location: Graduate Ref Collection call # 378.3025 P443g. Details on 1,400 fellowships, scholarships, grants, awards, and prizes from American sources for study in the U.S. and abroad.
Sallie Mae's Graduate Scholarships: Finding Free Money for College
Sallie Mae video: tips for finding money for graduate school.
Sallie Mae's Graduate Scholarship Search
This is a search engine that links students to access 950,000 graduate scholarships, worth up to $1 billion. The reason this is behind a login is because in order to use a 3rd party search tool, students create an account customized to them. Certainly, the more detailed a profile, the better the tool can narrow your search.
Sallie Mae's Paying for Graduate School
Sallie Mae video: guide to paying for graduate school.
Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans
Location: Trexler Library Graduate Ref Collection call # 378.33 S368f. A compendium of funding sources at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.
University of California GRAPES Database
Search of 540 private and publicly funded awards.
University of Illinois Graduate College Fellowship Opportunities
Arranged in broad categories, such as humanities/social science.

Muhlenberg College Prestigious Awards Initiative

Since its inception, the Scholarships, Fellowships, and Awards initiative, supported by the Dean of Academic Life, has resulted in well over one hundred awards for students and recent graduates, including two Truman, twenty-three Fulbrights, and nineteen NSFs. With these grants, students have pursued studies at Princeton, Harvard, Brown, Vanderbilt, the University of Wisconsin, and universities overseas. For more information, visit the Dean of Academic Life website .