The gift of Ray R. Brennen, Class of 1935, this collection is comprised of maps, atlases, land deeds, and books on cartography. Many of the sixty maps and atlases date to the late 18th century and represent the work of some of the finest mapmakers in Europe and America, including Homann, Moll, de L'Isle, Seutter, Cary, and more. Also included is Lewis Evans' series of Maps of the Middle British Colonies in America, published in London in 1755, and Thomas Pownall's Topographical Description of Such Parts of North America and The American Military Pocket Atlas, both published in 1776. Several large, framed 19th century maps of Allentown and Lehigh County are a part of the collection. The Brennen Collection was digitized in 2016.
View the Brennen Map Collection catalog PDF (2001)
View the digitized collection on JSTOR
View the lists of Brennen maps: Pennsylvania, America, Europe, World, Atlases, Land Deeds
Several of the larger maps in the Brennen Collection are hung throughout Trexler Library. You can see a list of these on the following guide.
This expanding collection is the gift of Roy Kaufman and Cindy Derrow, parents of Caleb Kaufman '21. The collection comprises over 70 historical maps spanning the 17th through the 20th century, geographically covering the Americas and Europe through China and the South Pacific. Mapmakers include Blaeu, Ortelius, Bellin, de Vaugondy, Hondius, and more.
Additionally, the Kaufman-Derrow Collection includes a group of over 250 road maps of the United States, along with select international road maps, spanning the 1930s through 2010s.
View the list of Kaufman-Derrow maps (the collection is still being processed)
View the road map collection finding aid.
