Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Reference Works (Tertiary)
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Encyclopedia Judaica is made available to the community through the generosity of the Bureau of Jewish Education and its donors.
Encyclopedia of Judaism
Provides a full and reliable account of Judaism, beginning in ancient Israelite times and extending to our own day. Published in collaboration with the Museum of Jewish Heritage, New York.
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
Books (Primary or Secondary)
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.
Scholarly Journal Articles (Secondary)
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.
Index to Jewish Periodicals
Comprehensive index to English-language articles from journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
Websites as Primary Sources
Blogs and other opinion-based websites can function as primary source material to gauge contemporary attitudes about a particular concept. In addition, statistical websites can serve as a source for primary documentation.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan