Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Reference works (good for generating topics and recommending sources)
Encyclopedia of Mexico
Available by library subscription. Signed articles written by leading scholars in the field. Great for topic narrowing and for identifying the most important articles and books on a subject.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Newly revised and online, well-respected resource complete with recommended readings for further study.
Finding primary documents
Primary documents (painting, photographs, letters and diaries, fan sites, blogs, youtube video, and sound recordings) can be found abundantly by using any standard web search engine like Google. However, the library catalog and WorldCat (see below) can be good sources primary documents published in book form.
See also the footnotes of secondary sources, which often will point to primary documentation.
Authoritative secondary commentary in books
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Authoritative secondary commentary in articles
Academic Search Complete
Library subscription database. Standard index for peer-reviewed articles across the disciplines. Includes many full-text articles.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Library subscription database. Standard index for peer-reviewed articles and scholarly books on Latin American history.
Websites more likely to be scholarly
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan