Subject Guides: International Environmental Policy: Home

Getting Started: Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Principles of Environmental Law by Ludwig Krämer (Editor); Emanuela Orlando (Editor)
ISBN: 1785365665
Publication Date: 2018-07-27

Finding Scholarly Information

See a list of all article databases via the Library Homepage -- Research -- Databases A-Z.

Check the Subject Guides (linked from the Library Homepage in the Research area ) for other recommended databases for this and other subject areas.

Subject-specific Databases: Political Science / Policy

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and more in the area of international affairs theory and research. Full text is linked directly in the database.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index is an index of scholarship and research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It contains citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
PAIS Index combines two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International is the electronic version and continuation of the print publications PAIS Bulletin, PAIS Foreign Language Index, and their predecessor titles. PAIS Archive is the electronic version of the print publication PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin and its predecessor titles. By combining these two databases, PAIS Index contains all PAIS indexing from 1915 - present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Subject-specific Databases: Sciences

ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,000+ full-text journals published by Elsevier 1995 to the present in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
Springerlink This link opens in a new window
Over 1,700 journals from Springer-Verlag with coverage from 1997 to present. Subjects covered focus on the natural sciences, but also include significant titles in behavioral sciences, humanities, social sciences and law.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.

Finding Popular Information (News and Magazines)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Finding Policy/Legal Information from Environmental/Governmental Organizations' Websites

INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

DOMESTIC GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Information from the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills from 1989 on, public laws from 1988 on, committee reports from 1990 on, House and Senate documents from 1995 on, Congressional Record from 1985 on, Federal Register from 1980 on, and more government information.

Other Nations

Governments on the World Wide Web
Cornell Law School - Legal Information Institute
The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International Law.
World Legal Information Institute - Countries
Organized by country and then by subject.

NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS, THINK TANKS, AND OTHER SELECTED SITES

EcoLex: The Gateway to Environmental Law
"ECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP. Its purpose is to build capacity worldwide by providing the most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law."
Includes information on environmental treaties, national legislation, case law, secondary literature, etc.
EISIL: International Environmental Law (American Society of International Law)
Links to treaties and websites. Organized by subject.
Think Tank Search
Directory of think tanks, from Harvard Kennedy School Library. Search option available, as well.
World Resources Institute
"The World Resources Institute (WRI) is an environmental think tank that goes beyond research to find practical ways to protect the earth and improve people’s lives. Our mission is to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth’s environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations."
Avalon Project
"The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text."
International Maritime Organization
"IMO – the International Maritime Organization – is the United Nations specialized agency with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine and atmospheric pollution by ships."

How do I get the full text of my article?

To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

Citing Your Sources

Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)
Find in print- Ready Reference 808.027 C632m

Up-To-Date Trexler Library Reference

Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.

International Environmental Policy

Get Help