"The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1691 to 1877." Provides digital access to American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
The collections of historical periodicals provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. The 17 initial collections cover the following areas: Advertising; Agriculture; Alternative Medicine and Health; The American West; Business, Industry and Professions; Canada; Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Religions ; Current Events of the Period; Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts; Foreign Language Periodicals in America; Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societies; Military and Law Enforcement; Religious Issues Pertaining to Women, Children, and Families; Science; Slavery and Abolition; Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century.
"American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later."
Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) comprising books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.
Content covers critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Primarily in English but also includes other languages.
Fully searchable government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals.
HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase,
Includes full text of the following publications:
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2019)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
The Washington Post (1877-2006)
U.S. Northeast Collection (1785-2010) (includes Morning Call and other regional papers)
"Slavery & anti-slavery: a transnational archive covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery: legal issues; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more."
Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
What about secondary sources (historian perspectives)?
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
