Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Encyclopedias (cannot be used as sources in the paper per se, but can serve as pointers)
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Encyclopedia Judaica (2nd ed., 2007)
(Trexler Library Reference Collection 296.03 E56j)
Signed entries by invited contributors. Good for topic-finding and topic-narrowing.
Encyclopedia of Judaism
Provides a full and reliable account of Judaism, beginning in ancient Israelite times and extending to our own day.
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
Academic work and primary documents as published in books
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Search for books indexed and scanned by the Google books project.
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.
Academic work published as journal articles
Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
Index to research literature in world religions and related studies, with many links to full text.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database. Standard index for European history. Some full text.
Index to Jewish Periodicals
A subscription database. Standard index for scholarship on Jewish religion and culture. Some full text.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
RAMBI (Index of Articles on Jewish Studies)
A selective index of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan