Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Authoritative Reference Works (Tertiary)
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Encyclopedia of Christianity
Definitive reference work on Christianity. Multivolume set. Available in Trexler Library, call # 230.003 E56o
Encyclopedia of Judaism
Provides a full and reliable account of Judaism, beginning in ancient Israelite times and extending to our own day. Published in collaboration with the Museum of Jewish Heritage, New York.
Encyclopedia of Protestantism
The definitive reference to the history and beliefs that continue to exert a profound influence on Western thought. Featuring entries written by an international team of specialists and scholars, the encyclopedia traces the course of Protestantism from its beginnings prior to 1517, when Martin Luther nailed his 95 Theses to the door of Wittenberg Cathedral, to the vital and diverse international scene of the present day.
Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Books (Primary or Secondary)
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.
Scholarly Journal Articles (Secondary)
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Index to research literature in world religions and related studies, with many links to full text.
Index to Jewish Periodicals
Comprehensive index to English-language articles from journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
Websites as Primary Sources
Blogs and other opinion-based websites can function as primary source material to gauge contemporary attitudes about a particular concept. In addition, statistical websites can serve as a source for primary documentation.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan