Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
The dictionary of homophobia : a global history of gay & lesbian experience
Based on the work of seventy researchers in fifteen countries, The Dictionary of Homophobia is a mammoth, encyclopedic book that documents the history of homosexuality, and various cultural responses to it, in all regions of the world: a masterful, engaged, and wholly relevant study that traces the political and social emancipation of a culture. The book, which includes Canadian contributors and issues, is the first English translation of Dictionnaire de L'Homophobie, published in France in 2003 to world-wide acclaim. The Dictionary includes over 175 essays on various aspects of gay rights and.
Encyclopedia of gay and lesbian popular culture
During the 20th century through today, gay and lesbian artists, writers, political activists, and sports figures contributed their talents to all areas of popular culture. Authors such as E. Lynn Harris and Patricia Highsmith write bestselling novels. Rupert Everett follows in the footsteps of Rock Hudson and others who starred in multimillion dollar films. George Michael and k.d.lang have been the creative forces behind dozens of hit songs, and the TV programs of Ellen DeGeneres, Rosie O'Donnell, and the cast of Queer Eye for the Straight Guy are enjoyed in gay and straight households alike.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures
The Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures in two volumes attempts to open up for contemporary readers the complex history and wide cultural diversity of lesbian and gay life.
Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America
Online version of the 3-vol. work published by Gale providing a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States.
Gay dads : transitions to adoptive fatherhood
When gay couples become parents, they face a host of questions and issues that their straight counterparts may never have to consider. How important is it for each partner to have a biological tie to their child? How will they become parents: will they pursue surrogacy, or will they adopt? Will both partners legally be able to adopt their child? Will they have to hide their relationship to speed up the adoption process? Will one partner be the primary breadwinner? And how will their lives change, now that the presence of a child has made their relationship visible to the rest of the world?
The health of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people : building a foundation for better understanding
The report examines the health status of LGBT populations in three life stages: childhood and adolescence, early/middle adulthood, and later adulthood.
Homosexuality in art
This book is not a panegyric of homosexuality. It is a scientific study led by Professor James Smalls who teaches art history at the prestigious University of Maryland, Baltimore. Abandoning all classical clichés and sociological approaches, the author highlights the sensibility particular to homosexuals. This book examines the process of creation and allows one to comprehend the contribution of homosexuality to the evolution of emotional perception. In a time when all barriers have been overcome, this analysis offers a new understanding of our civilisation's masterpieces.
Living out Islam : voices of gay, lesbian, and transgender Muslims
Living Out Islam documents the rarely-heard voices of Muslims who live in secular democratic countries and who are gay, lesbian, and transgender.
Articles, commentary, personality profiles, reviews and book reviews representing a wide variety of gay and lesbian ideas and perspectives.
The Gay & lesbian review worldwide
Provides a forum for discussion & analysis of contemporary gay, lesbian & bisexual ideas & literature.
GLQ : a journal of lesbian and gay studies
Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
Journal of homosexuality
The Journal of Homosexuality is an internationally acclaimed, peer-reviewed publication devoted to publishing a wide variety of disciplinary and interdisciplinary scholarship to foster a thorough understanding of the complexities, nuances, and the multifaceted aspects of sexuality and gender. The chief aim of the journal is to publish thought-provoking scholarship by researchers, community activists, and scholars who employ a range of research methodologies and who offer a variety of perspectives to continue shaping knowledge production in the arenas of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) studies and queer studies.
The Urban Institute
The Urban Institute is a nonprofit policy research organization established in Washington, D.C., in 1968. It investigates the social and economic problems confronting the nation and government policies and public and private programs designed to alleviate them. UI reports include the National Survey of America's Families, a representative look at the well-being of adults and children from 13 states, including Colorado, and Assessing the New Federalism, a multi-year research project to analyze the devolution of responsibility for social programs from the federal government to the states, focusing primarily on health care, income security, job training, and social services.
LGBTQ History in Government Documents
This guide "highlight(s) a number of primary sources documenting the U.S. federal government's stance on issues related to the LGBT movement from the 1800s to the present day. These documents illustrate that our government's policies toward LGBT people have evolved greatly over the years and continue to change - though not always for the better."
LGBT Studies in Video
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Search Google Scholar for Articles