Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Databases for Scholarly and Professional Literature
OmniFile Full Text
A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business, with significant coverage of library and information science. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It link to check for full text online or in the library.
LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts
Scholarly and non-scholarly publications in the area of library and information science. Use the "Check for full text" links to search for full text online or in the library.
Other Recommended Databases for Scholarly, Professional, and Popular Literature
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
Websites and Career Resources
American Library Association
ALA provides "leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all.” Find information on professional issues & advocacy, education & careers, conferences & events, awards & grants, and more.
Links to specialized library associations in many areas, including: academic, public, school, archives, special libraries, and more.
Pennsylvania Library Association
Pennsylvania's professional library organization represents the profession in state government and provides opportunities for professional growth, leadership development, and continuing education for librarians.
, Film Studies
, Information Science
, International Studies
, Media & Communication
, Political Economy & Public Policy
, Political Science
, Sustainability Studies