Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Scholarly Communication and
Digital Learning Librarian
Humanities & Business Subject Specialist
Foundation Directory Online
Uncover information on all 226,000 U.S. Foundations. Password access only.
Perhaps the single best directory of U.S. nonprofits on the web, GuideStar (password access only) offers basic directory information plus financial statements, mission and programs, goals and results, and leaders.
International Journal of Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Marketing
A forum for those who are interested in the interface between marketing and philanthropy in its broadest sense (giving, benevolence, welfare, altruism, prosocial behaviour and ‘doing good’).
Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly
An international, interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal for nonprofit sector research dedicated to enhancing our knowledge of nonprofit organizations, philanthropy, and voluntarism by providing cutting-edge research, discussion, and analysis of the field.
Nonprofit Management & Leadership
A quarterly peer-reviewed journal that publishes quality scholarship on all aspects of management and leadership important to nonprofit organizations and leaders.
Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations
Voluntas, the official journal of the International Society for Third-Sector Research (ISTR), is an interdisciplinary journal that provides a central forum for worldwide research in the area between the state, market, and household sectors. The journal publishes full-length articles and book reviews
Other important periodicals
Chronicle of Philanthropy
Provides news & information for fund raisers, professional employees of foundation, corporate grant makers, & people who work for non-profit, tax exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, & social services.
NPQ uses a range of media channels to help advance critical conversations that can refine nonprofit and social movement policy and practice.
The Nonprofit Times
Dedicated to supplying breaking news, in-depth reporting, and special issue coverage to help nonprofit executives run their organizations more effectively.
Stanford Social Innovation Review
SSIR is written by and for social change leaders from around the world and from all sectors of society—nonprofits, foundations, business, government, and engaged citizens.
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Business Source Complete
Available by library subscription. Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics. Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.
Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action. The leading research association on the subject of nonprofits.
Education and consultation
The Board Support Program helps lay the foundation for setting board development priorities and strengthens the full board’s governance performance and practices.
Helps leaders, nonprofit organizations, and movements committed to social justice realize their full power.
Lilly Family School of Philanthropy
Empowers and trains students and nonprofit professionals to be thoughtful, innovative leaders who awaken generosity and inspire change.
National Center on Nonprofit Enterprise
The National Center on Nonprofit Enterprise brings ideas from economics and strategic management to the specific application of issues faced by social purpose organizations across the board, especially not-for- profit organizations.
Nonprofit Center at LaSalle University
Enhances the management, operations and governance of nonprofit organizations through educational programs and consulting.
Data and statistics
Center for Municipal Finance
The financial statements library contains over 200,000 CAFRs and Single Audits produced by government and non-profit entities. Password required.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
Designed as a portal for nonprofit practitioners, researchers, and policymakers to download and explore data, this is the home for all NCCS publications.
NCCS Data Archive
The data produced by NCCS are intended for use by researchers and policy-makers in their quantitative analyses, and as a springboard for more in-depth survey or case study research.
NCCS IRS Busines Master Files
Contains IRS business master files back to 1989.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan