Subject Guides: Medicine and Culture: Home

Finding Background Information

Oxford Bibliography of Anthropology This link opens in a new window
"Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students, scholars, and professionals.
It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen."
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly journals and books in anthropology, archaeology, and related fields. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
A database of mostly scholarly journal articles, as well as some books and non-scholarly articles published by the American Anthropological Association. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly journals in sociology, psychology, political science, health, social work, education, and more. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948 and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,000+ full-text journals published by Elsevier 1995 to the present in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
Springerlink This link opens in a new window
Over 1,700 journals from Springer-Verlag with coverage from 1997 to present. Subjects covered focus on the natural sciences, but also include significant titles in behavioral sciences, humanities, social sciences and law.

Finding Congressional Testimony

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
To search for testimony given in congressional hearings, choose the Advanced Search option on the left sidebar.
In the search boxes, enter words describing your issue; in the Limit area of the search screen, select only Hearings.
From the search results list, select relevant items. The record of each item will describe a summary of the hearing and list witnesses who testified. Full text of some hearings may be available; look for links labeled "Retrieve selected transcripts" in the Links To section.
If full text of the hearing isn't available online, the library may also have some hearings in print or on microfilm. To check the library's other access options, search the library catalog by the title of the hearing.

Finding Books

Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.

To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

How do I get the full text of my article?

To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

Citing Your Sources

For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

American Anthropological Association Style Guide
General guidelines, as well as reference examples. AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style. This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style.

Where no rule is present in the AAA Style Guide, follow Chicago Style. For information on Chicago style, consult the following resources:

The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
Ready Reference 808.027 C632m

Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)

Chicago Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)

Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.

Medicine and Culture

Get Help

Class Activity