Subject Guides: Migrations and Cultural Encounters: Home

Important Websites

Center for Immigration Studies
Historical overview, links to data sources and statistics from census and governmental resources, research by topic on United States immigration.
European Migration and Asylum Policy Timeline
See also, policies, infographics, meetings...
https://www.consilium.europa.eu/en/topics/migration-and-asylum/
Human Rights Watch
Trending topics include Sudan, Israel/Palestine, Russia-Ukraine War, Tigray Conflict
International Organization for Migration - Crisis Response
"As the leading UN agency working on migration, IOM is committed to saving lives and helping populations move out of harm’s way. We protect and assist those displaced or stranded by crisis, and support populations and their communities to recover. We work to mitigate adverse drivers that force people from their homes, help build resilience and focus on reducing disaster risk so that movement and migration can be a choice.

IOM is amongst the largest humanitarian actors in the world and one of the few international organizations directly implementing programmes across the humanitarian, development and peace nexus providing comprehensive, holistic and inclusive responses throughout all phases of crises. IOM’s efforts to address the mobility dimensions of crisis is framed by the Migration Crisis Operational Framework (MCOF)."
Migration Data Portal
Global information on climate impacts, governance, statistics, public opinion.
U.S. Customs and Border Protection
Explore important developments from 1790 to present.

Background Information

"Immigration not only profoundly affects population dynamics but also has far-reaching economic, social, and political consequences for both destination countries and countries of origin. As such, immigration has global significance. It has also typically been a contested issue and remains one of the most controversial policy fields in virtually all countries.

Immigration is the entry of a person into a political unit, usually a state, with the aim of establishing permanent residence. This process involves the transgression of a ratified boundary by which nation-states demarcate, thus making immigration an inherently political act even without the recognition as such by the immigrant."

Read more on current immigration statistics, waves, economics, legal issues, and impact...

Anheier, & Anheier, H. (2012). Immigration. In H. Anheier & M. Juergensmeyer (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Global Studies. Sage Publications. https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6OTQ4MjEw?aid=256853

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Newspapers

Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-present.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to current and recent archives of major daily news publications, regional, and local news resources in the US & Canada, plus over 800 more from around the globe. Publication types include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format.
It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City); O Globo (Brazil); La Nación (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile).
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
"Newspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international and regional newspapers. Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, 20/20, Nightline, Good Morning America, Meet the Press, CNN Headline News Primetime Justice, and more.
Including The Evening Standard (U.K.), Daily Mail Sunday (U.K.), Slovak Spectator, USA Today 2002-2023, The Washington Post (2003-2023), The Times (U.K., 2000-2023), The Australian (2000-2020), The Toronto Star (1985-2023), and many others.
New York Times Digital Archive, 1851-4 years ago This link opens in a new window
Includes full text PDF images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857- 4 years ago). Index searches within1851 to 1993 using The New York Times Index.
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Offers access to leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).
U.S. Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8 a.m. each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.

Migrations and Cultural Encounters

Get Help

Relevant Books

Important Websites

Background Information

Newspapers