Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article, click on the Check for Full Text buttons from within any database, or visit Trexler Library website and search in Encompass on the journal title to determine if itl is available full text through our library.
How do I find scholarly introductions to organology?
Grove Music Online
Includes the Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, which is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on musical instruments of the world yet produced. The second edition provides greatly expanded coverage of instruments from around the world and their builders, with special attention to electronic and experimental instruments, the human body as an instrument, the history and techniques of instrument design and manufacture, performance practice, and the scholars whose work has shaped our current understanding of musical instruments.
How do I locate images from Michael Praetorius' Syntagma Musicum
These images are in the public domain, and can be used for any purpose without concern over copyright, though as a courtesy credit should always be given to the source.
How do I find scholarly books on my subject?
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.
How do I locate peer-reviewed journal articles?
Academic Search Complete
A good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
Includes extensive full text, all from scholarly periodicals.
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan